BCHA Achievement Awards



The “Horseman of the Year Award” was established in 1991 in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the founding of the Boulder County Horsemen’s Association (founded in 1971).  To better reflect our mission and membership, the name of the award was changed in 2000 to “BCHA Achievement Award” and the organization changed its name to “Boulder County Horse Association” in 2001.

The award is given to the person(s) who have given exceptional amounts of their expertise, time, financial, or other contributions to the horse community of Boulder County, without remuneration.  The award consists of a walnut plaque with a three-dimensional golden horse statue, and a green plate that reads “In recognition and appreciation of your inspiration and dedication on behalf of our equestrian interests.”

Recipients include:

1991      Ken Crooks
1992      Joanna Sampson
1994      David Varra
1995      Cathy Bickell
1997      Creighton Stewart, Judy Cameron
1998      Suzanne Webel, Eloise Joder
1999      Marty Marten, Tracy Speich
1999      Board of County Commissioners Special Award (for Land Use Code Horsekeeping regulations)
2000      Nancy Loving
2001      Jay Hearst  (for support of Colorado Horse Rescue)
2002      Pat Jarvis, Bob Joder
2003      Mary Midkiff
2004      Amy Bowman, Jody Marken
2005      Hildy Armour
2006      Barb Haaland-Michaels, Laurie Prindle, Sidney Shinedling
2007      Terri Snyder
2008      Caroline Roy
2009      Will Toor (Boulder County Commissioner)
2010      Peter Bakwin (BATCO support), Rex Walker
2011      Bill Scebbi (Colorado Horse Council)
2012      Jill Talbot, Jack Gathright
2013      Sheila Ranegar
2014      Suzanne Webel — Lifetime Achievement Award
2015       (none)
2016       Carmen Porter

Would you like to nominate someone to receive the BCHA Annual Achievement Award?  Please visit our nomination page HERE